Looking for emigrants from the Hesse region?

Ever since I published my blogpost about emigrants from the Rhineland area, I received the question “Does a database like this exist for other areas, too”? And I always had to say “I’m sorry, I don’t know”.

But a few days ago a great blogpost from Ursula Krause from Rootseekers popped up in my timeline. She found a way to get similar data for the Hesse region. Once I saw it, I dove deeper into the database to have a look what you can find in it. And this blogpost is the result.

I got great feedback on my Rhineland blog from readers who found long researched ancestors and I hope this one will help as many if not more.

What is this database?

It’s the “Auswanderer-Nachweise” (emigration statements) at the Hessian State Archive in Darmstadt. I have to say one thing upfront: This collection is not complete as it is based on the volunteering work from 2 genealogists before WW II. As most of the statements have been destroyed during the War this collection might be the only source of emigration data from the region.

Where do I find it?

That’s a bit tricky, but stay with me, we will go step by step. First you need to go to the archival information system Hessen – here is the direct link to the English translation: https://arcinsys.hessen.de/arcinsys/start.action?request_locale=en

You will find this page:

hessisches-archivsystem-page-1

As you can see, the navigation bar on the left is not translated. Use the first submenue “Staatsarchive” to get here:

hessisches-archivsystem-page-2

As mentioned above, the collection can be found at the State Archive in Darmstadt. Use the “Navigator” link to access the overview of collections:

hessisches-archivsystem-page-3

You need to watch out for “R Sammlungen und Karteien”

hessisches-archivsystem-page-4

 

Don’t leave me now, we are almost there!! On the next page look out for the signature HStAD (Hessisches Staatsarchiv Darmstadt) R 21 B and use the Navigator link again

hessisches-archivsystem-page-5

Once done, you are finally where you need to be to start your search. The page looks like this.

hessisches-archivsystem-page-6

Use the navigation bar on the left to search for your ancestor’s last name. I used one of my main names NICOLAUS as an example.

hessisches-archivsystem-page-7

I used the arrows in the upper navigation bar to go back and forth. Well, I started with it, after 10 clicks, I just typed the page number in the light grey box and waited where I would end up. I picked ELISABETH NICOLAUS, just to show you what kind of information you can expect: name, (maiden name if she would have been married), origin, emigration date, emigrated to, age, birth date, confession.

Clicking on “detail page”, I receive even a bit more information.

hessisches-archivsystem-page-8

Under “Bemerkungen” (remarks) I receive the information of her parents and that Elisabeth travelled with the parents and 4 siblings. There are no original images available, this information comes from index cards only. But once you found them here and know their origin, this gives you a hint in which church records you can search your ancestors now.

As mentioned before this collection is not complete. Don’t be frustrated if you don’t find your ancestors. But I keep my fingers crossed that you will!

2 thoughts on “Looking for emigrants from the Hesse region?

please comment

