#52ancestors No. 10 – lots and lots of snow

I have a lot of catching up to do with the 52 ancestors challenge. But finally my cast is gone and I can type again. I tried with this heavy thing on, but it wasn’t a pleasure – let me tell you that much ;)

Which means, I have a couple of weeks to deliver.. will do my very best in the next couple of days.

52ancestors-2015

themes-2015-03The challenge for week 10 was “Stormy Weathers”. And when I think about Stormy Weathers I think about the heaviest snow storm in my home area back in winter 1978/1979. I remember that one, because we couldn’t use the boardwalk on our way to school.. well, I had still to take the left turn to the Kindergarten .. but we had to walk on the street. The snow was piled higher than I was tall ;) And that was one of the better aspects of the snow storm.. but hey, I was five years old, I didn’t care about lost electricity or else.

Have a look at some pictures here

And when I have a look at the year 1979 in my family tree, we meet Emmi Martha Frieda Leppin.

Emmi was born on March 7, 1901 in Groß Pravtshagen, Grandduchy of Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany as the second of five children.

birth certificate Emmi Leppin

birth certificate Emmi Leppin

 

And as you can see on her birth certificate above, the registrar noted there that she married 1936 in Grevesmühlen, Mecklenburg, Germany  and died 1979, the year of the huge snow storm, also in Grevesmühlen, Mecklenburg, East Germany. He or she even noted the numbers of the respective certificates as a source. Oh, how I wish more people would do that.

 

One thought on “#52ancestors No. 10 – lots and lots of snow

please comment

