#52ancestors 9 Close to home – reaching Lübeck, Germany

I have a bit of catching up to do with the 52 ancestors challenge from Amy Crow at No Story Too Small.

Travelling and a broken wrist after the first 20 minutes this year on cross country skis don’t help :)

52ancestors-2015
This week’s theme is “Close to home”. The first question to be answered there is “which one”? My original home is Lübeck in Schleswig-Holstein Germany. Fort Worth, Texas, USA will always be part of my home, too. I live in Frankfurt, Germany for 13 years now.. definetly home.

But when I speak of back home it is always Lübeck, Germany. In my Dad’s maternal SCHMIDT line (both my paternal grandparents were SCHMIDTS) it is the generation of my greatgrandparents who came from Tüschenbek in the neighbour grandduchy of Lauenburg into the free city of Lübeck. Have a look at the map below. It is really close but it was a bit different 100 years ago.

Schleswig-Holstein

Let’s take Johann Heinrich Christian SCHMIDT, my first cousin 3x removed as an example. He was born as a lauenburg citizen on December 7, 1868 on Tüschenbek estate, grandduchy of Lauenburg as second son of Johann Joachim Heinrich SCHMIDT and his wife Anna Maria Elisabeth née KORFF. He received his christening eight days later on December 15, 1868 in Groß Grönau the main village of the parish, the estate belongs to.

The local military draft registration lists show him living and working on the estate as a stableman in 1888.

An then 1912 came the big day. On May 25, 1912 he was officially naturalized:

naturalization record

naturalization record

The record shows him being married to a woman née RÖNNPAGE and if I interprete it correctly, he had one daughter and one son. But I didn’t find his wedding record or any children for him yet.

StepMap Schleswig-Holstein

6 thoughts on “#52ancestors 9 Close to home – reaching Lübeck, Germany

  1. Hi, Barb. Very interesting post! Nice to know some of your background. When I think of home it’s always Nebraska but, like you, Fort Worth,, Texas will always be part of home for me. I worked and lived there several years and one of my sons has lived there for almost a decade.

please comment

