#52ancestors – So Far Away – travelling up my family tree

themes-2015-02

This week’s theme for the 52 ancestors challenge (check out www.nostorytoosmall.com to find out more about the challenge) is given with “So Far Away”. I decided to go with “far away” from a time perspective and went back in time.

I had a look at who is the ancestor putting the most years between me and him or her.

And I found my 6th great grandparents Claus Joachim SEEMANN and Anna Sophia KLINGBIEL from Bahlen, Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany.

Claus and Anna married on October 25, 1748 in Klütz,  Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany. That is the oldest record I have in my family tree.

They had two children I know of:

  • Johann Christoph SEEMANN (my 5th great grandfather) – baptized on May 4, 1760 in Bahlen, Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany
  • Christina Sophia SEEMANN – birthdate unknown

I received the data for Claus and Anna from Katrin Rohde, a co-genealogist who took part in last years’ 52 ancestors challenge. You can find her blog here (in German): https://athingisgoingon.wordpress.com/

It turned out that Katrin and I are distant cousins, we share Claus and Anna as 6th great grandparents. You can find our story here

That is all I know so far from my “so far away” ancestors. Can’t wait to dig deeper!

52ancestors-2015.

2 thoughts on “#52ancestors – So Far Away – travelling up my family tree

please comment

