#52ancestors No 5 – plowing through… NOT :)

Okay, I have to admit, the challenge for week 5 of this years 52 ancestors in 52 weeks challenge gave me a hard time. Why? Because I have no idea what the term “plowing through” means. Of course I know that it is translated to, but I just couldn’t get it. Which shows again, no matter how good and how deep a knowledge of a foreign language is, there are some understanding issues which shows I am not a native speaker.

So, I just decided to not follow the theme.. sorry Amy ;)

If you don’t know what the 52 ancestors challenge is, go and visit www.nostorytoosmall.com and have a look at all the great bloggers taking part in telling stories of their ancestors. One ancestor a week.

52ancestors-2015

 

What have I done for this week? I randomly picked a name from my list. I literally played “darts” in scrolling down and pointing out a name.

May I introduce you to Karolina Maria Wilhelmine SCHMIDT. She is the mother-in-law of two of my 2nd cousins 4x removed. Keep on reading to unfold that story.

Karolina was born in Jeese, in the grandduchy of Mecklenburg-Schwerin in Germany on January 22, 1842.

 

The map on the left shows you the area of today’s German state Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Thinking back 100 years, you could find the grandduchy in the Northeast.

Karolina was the only known (at least to me) daughter of Ernst Joachim Heinrich SCHMIDT and his wife Henriette Karolina Katharina SCHULZ. Ernst was a “Kossate” (also known as Käter, Käthner, Kötter, Köter or Köthner) – which meant nothing else then that he owned a little cottage. Most of these little cottages were at the outlines of the villages, seperated from the bigger farms. They size of land belonging to the cottages was too small to live off it only. Therefore most of the Kossate worked as day labourers on the neighbour farms or as craftsmen.

I don’t have the exact date when Karolina married Hans Joachim Heinrich WARNKE, but it must have been before August 18, 1868.

Hans was also a Kossate and a mason from Upahl – a village in my “main” parish Diedrichshagen in the same grandduchy.

Why before that date? That was the day her daughter Wilhelmine Maria Dorothea was born in Upahl- which became later the wife of Joachim Karl Johann HAGEDORN, one of my 2nd cousins 4x removed I mentioned above.

Hans and Karolina had another child I know of: Heinrich Andreas Joachim, born on December 19, 1872 in Upahl. Heinrich married Joachim’s sister (and also my 2nd cousin 4x removed) Dorothea Maria Henriette HAGEDORN.

death certificate Karolina Schmidt

death certificate Karolina Schmidt

 

Karolina died on November 29, 1925 in Boienhagen, were she lived with her son Heinrich and his family following the death of her husband. Heinrich was also the person registering her death with the authorities.

2 thoughts on “#52ancestors No 5 – plowing through… NOT :)

  1. :chuckles: Next time – just ask? “plowing through” is when something you’re facing is just not going easily or smoothly and you have to just put your shoulder into it and shove, breaking through the barrier, situation, etc. Farmers often face fields that are difficult to work, have lots of stones, etc, and the only way to get it ready is just to push the plow through it. Especially New England farmers – more rocks than dirt in those fields :grins:

please comment

