The Christmas Truce

I admit that I shameless borrowed this idea from NikiMarie over at “My People in History” but I found her last blog really touching that I just had to take up the new Sainsbury christmas ad.

Yes can you believe it? Not even end of November and the christmas stuff gets dusted. But this time I don’t mind. I love this year’s christmas ad from the retailer Sainsbury here in the UK. It is about the christmas truce during WWI in 1914. Yes it is an ad – but it tells a beautiful story. A human story of WWI. And the ad has been created in cooperation with the Royal British Legion and military historians.

Based on letters and diaries with the help of military historians Sainsbury reconstructed the story of christmas eve and day in 1914 between the German and English troops.

And there are two videos on youtoube going along with this ad, and they are so much worth watching!

The Story behind the ad:

And “the making of”:

 

8 thoughts on “The Christmas Truce

  1. “I think it’s important to try and find out what one man did at one place at a certain time…” I couldn’t agree more! I love that quote from the second video :)

  2. As soon as I saw the title of your post, I knew it would be one I would enjoy reading. I have seen these ads too and they are incredible and very clever. This Christmas is the centenary of that Christmas Truce and I am sure we will see much more behind that story in the coming weeks. Thank you for sharing :-)

  3. My dad told this story a few times while I was a youngster and also an adult! His oldest brother was killed in France August 1918 at the age of 27 and he was only 13 years old. It was a total shock to a young Canadian farm boy, to be sure. Thank you for this blog.

please comment

