#52ancestors No. 8 – Schmidt & Klinkmann wedding

52ancestorsTheir son, my second great grandfather Gustav was the topic of my 52ancestors blogpost no. 6 “Malicious abandonment”.

Now it is time to tell the story about my third great grandparents.

Friedrich Theodor SCHMIDT and Henriette Elisabeth Sofia Maria KLINKMANN married on February 22, 1846 in Lausigk, which is today’s Bad Lausick, Saxony, Germany.

I had to take three pictures of the wedding entry to make all the information readable back home (it is the last entry on the pages):

Page 1 shows the number of the entry, the date, the place, if the wedding had been public or private (in this case public) and where the wedding banns had been published (here: Lausigk and Güstrow).

wedding entry Schmidt & Klinkman page 1

wedding entry Schmidt & Klinkman page 1

The second page provide information about the groom: Friedrich Theodor SCHMIDT, local carpenter. Oldest son of Johann Theodor SCHMIDT, also local carpenter. Unfortunately, only the father of the groom is mentioned. No information about the mother.

wedding entry Schmidt & Klinkmann page 2

wedding entry Schmidt & Klinkmann page 2

On page 3 you see the information about the bride Henriette Elisabeth Sofia Maria KLINKMANN, oldest daughter of the deceased Jakob Friedrich KLINKMANN from Güstrow, Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany.

wedding entry Schmidt & Klinkmann page 3

wedding entry Schmidt & Klinkmann page 3

Since Friedrich is stated as the oldest son, this gives me at least an idea about his birthyear. I found a baptism entry (which provided me also with the mother) for the second son of Johann Theodor SCHMIDT and Johanna Juliana EGELAND  being born in 1825. I checked the churchbook back til 1813 but couldn’t find a baptism record for Friedrich.

Maybe Friedrich as oldest son was born in his mother’s home village? But of her I have just the name so far, no place. It is already on my to-do list do dig deeper here.

I searched for Henriette at familysearch.org and found an entry for Elisabeth Henriette Sophia Maria KLINKMANN being baptized on March 3, 1824 in Güstrow, Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany.

Although the various names are mixed up I bit, I guess that this is an entry for “my” Henriette, especially since her father is stated with Jakob Friedrich KLINKMANN. And even her mother is given with Friederica Maria ESCH.

Source for that entry: “Deutschland, Geburten und Taufen 1558-1898,” index, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/NZHZ-X4C : accessed 22 Feb 2014), Elisabeth Henrietta Sophia Maria Klinckmann, 03 Mar 1824; citing [REFERENCE-ERROR]; FHL microfilm 69162.

And when I keep searching with the Elisabeth KLINKMANN / Friedrich SCHMIDT name combination, I even come up with another son:

Friedrich Hermann Moritz SCHMIDT baptized on April 10, 1850 in Güstrow. This would make him the brother of my 2nd great grandfather Gustav.

But I would like to check those entries in the churchbooks the next time I visit the archives in Schwerin.

To do’s regarding this entry:

  • check for wedding bann Friedrich Theodor SCHMIDT and Henriette Elisabeth Sofia Maria KLINKMANN in churchbooks Güstrow
  • check for baptism entry Elisabeth Henriette Sophia Maria KLINKMANN in churchbooks Güstrow
  • check for baptism entry Friedrich Hermann Moritz SCHMIDT in churchbooks Güstrow
  • check for hometown of Johanna Juliana EGELAND (Friedrich’s mother) to check if Friedrich as oldest son has been baptized there

Did I miss anything?

 

 

 

 

 

 

please comment

