#52ancestors No. 5 – My 2nd great grandparents – more mysteries

52ancestorsIt is time for my fifth blogpost for the 52 Ancestors challenge. If you haven’t heard anything of it yet, it is a challenge from Amy Crow over at “No Story Too Small“. We write 52 blogposts in 52 weeks about 52 ancestors. I’ve discovered some wonderful blogs already during this challenge. I am looking forward to the remaining year!

I want to tell you about my 2nd great grandparents who would celebrate their wedding anniversary today.

Elisabeth Maria KRANZ and Joachim Heinrich OHRT married on February 3, 1867 in Schlutup, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany.

Elisabeth was born January 16, 1844 in Schlutup into the marriage of the local fisherman Hans KRANZ and Lucia BADE.

baptism Maria Elisabeth Kranz 1844

baptism Maria Elisabeth Kranz 1844

Joachim was born into a typical day labourer family moving from village to village. Therefore it was a bit tough to find his birth entry. I finally found him being born on October 1, 1835 in Menzendorf in the parish of Lübsee in the dukedom of Ratzeburg.

There he also received his christening on October 3, 1835.

Until today, his parents Johann Friedrich OHRT and Anna Catharina Maria Dorohtea  GROTH give me a hard time in my research. Well, actually more his mother does – her birthplace is still a mystery to me ;)

You might remember from previous blogposts that my OHRT family originally comes from Mönkhagen, which is about 20 miles west from the area I write about today. That might not be a big difference, but it was two different duchies with two different rulers. Moving around wasn’t as easy as today. You can take a look at the maps here.

Elisabeth and Joachim had six children. For five of them I found the birth respectively baptism entries in the church books of St. Andreas church in Schlutup (they are stored in the city archives of the city of Lübeck today, very easy to access).

  • Lucia Catharina Maria * May 2, 1867
  • a stillborn daughter */+ January 26, 1869
  • Heinrich Fritz Christian * April 15, 1870 – + August 15, 1871
  • Helene Anna Elise * April 9, 1873
  • Emma Catharina * June 6, 1877

The only record in which the sixth child – well, actually the first child – is mentioned in relation to the family is the census of 1875.

census 1875

census 1875

There a Dorothea Ohrt is mentioned as daughter being born in 1862. Which would be five years before the wedding. Although I described before that illegitimate children weren’t uncommon those days, I am a bit torn if she is really THEIR daughter or only HIS from a previous relationship. Or maybe her birthdate is wrong, because the one from her younger sister Lucia (here named Louise) is given with May 2, 1866 in this census. The birth record says May 2, 1867.

The 1880 census shows the correct date though, but Dorothea is not part of the household anymore.

census 1880

census 1880

I found an entry for a Margaretha Catharina Dorothea Ohrt with the exact birth date as provided in the 1875 census in the 1880 records. You see her in row six living and working as a maid in a different quarter of Lübeck. I kept her in my database, but with a huge questionmark.

1880 census Margaretha Catharina Dorothea Ohrt

1880 census Margaretha Catharina Dorothea Ohrt

I couldn’t find a death entry for either Joachim or Elisabeth yet.

Enhanced by Zemanta

One thought on “#52ancestors No. 5 – My 2nd great grandparents – more mysteries

  1. Pingback: 52 Ancestors Challenge: Week 5 Recap | No Story Too Small

please comment

