January 29 – Maria Gertrud Ellie Rudolf

Following the death of King George III. the current prince regent becomes George IV. reign of Great Britain and Hanover on January 29, 1820.

And we stick to new kings – Friedrich VIII. follows his father Christian IX onto the throne of Denmark on January 29, 1906.

Unfortunately – or fortunately? – I don’t have kings (neither current nor future or past) in my family tree.

I’ve spent quite some time today with my great grandfather Albert Karl Julius NICOLAUS. Well, literally speaking ;) I asked one of my twitter contacts – a military historian – if he could take a look at two pictures I have of him in uniform. He did and we had a nice twitter chat about it ;)

And what a coincidence that it is the birthday of his third wife Maria Gertrud Ellie RUDOLF today. She was called by her third name “Ellie”.

She was born on January 29, 1903 in Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (take a look at the region here).

She married my great grandfather on January 2, 1929 in Halle, Saxony-Anhaltina, Germany. Her occupation on the wedding certificate is given with “kindergarten teacher”. Before she married my great grandfather she was the nanny for my grandfather and his sister.

17-11-1928_Annemie-Opa-Uropa-Stiefuroma_(Kindermdchen)

This is a picture supposedly taken on November 17, 1928 – at least that’s what is written on the back of the picture. And it shows my greatgrandfather, Elli, my grandfather and his sister.

The wedding certificate showed a remark with her death date. Ellie died on February  13, 1964.

One thought on “January 29 – Maria Gertrud Ellie Rudolf

please comment

