Conflicting Information

I guess there is not one genealogist that didn’t come by conflicting information yet. But so far I’ve only had this happening in churchbooks or censuses from the early 19th century and before, when there wasn’t a “standard” how information was obtained.

But yesterday I was proven wrong. It even happens in the early 20th century when there are forms for everything.

I have this young man on my family tree who was killed on the battlefield of Cambrai in France during WW I on November 20, 1917. He is mentioned serving for the Infantery regiment No. 90 (reserve)

death entry churchbook Diedrichshagen

death entry churchbook Diedrichshagen

The above is is death entry of the churchbook in Diedrichshagen, Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany. In the last column of the right, his parents are given with Johann Heinrich August QUALMANN and Anna Juliane Elise née PARBS (already dead).

Based on the age given in the entry (19 years, 4 months and 12 days), I checked the churchbooks for his birth entry and found this:

Blog Taufeintrag Willi Qualmann

He was born on July 8, 1898 in Kastahn, Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany.

Again, his father is Johann Heinrich August QUALMANN and his mother Anna Juliane Elise née PARBS.

Everything is fine up until here. But yesterday I received a civil death registration for a Willi Johann Hans Qualmann serving in the Infantery regiment No. 90 (reserve) who died in the battles south of Ribecout at Cambrai on November 20. 1917

death certificate Willi Johann Hans Qualmann

death certificate Willi Johann Hans Qualmann

And I thought “Great, another source, I can add”. And then I looked down a bit further, reading the record til the end and couldn’t believe my eyes.

Translated it says: “Son of the fee farmer Johann Qualmann and his late wife Meta née Luckow in Kastahn” What??

I tried looking up the civil birth registration, but the duplicates wich are published on ancestry.de are ending for Diedrichshagen in 1891.

I am very sure, that the civil registration is wrong, that the registrar just mixed up the local Qualmann families. Especially since he received the information from the Infantery regiment.

But what would you do? Use this certificate or not? How to cite it? Or not cite it at all?

5 thoughts on “Conflicting Information

  1. Pingback: Conflicting information Part II | Barbara Schmidt

  2. Pingback: Can’t believe I missed my blogiversary! | Barbara Schmidt

please comment

