November 20 – Today in my family tree

November 20, 1820: the whaler “Essex” gets rammed repeatedly by a pot whale and drowns. This will become the inspiration for Melville’s novel “Moby Dick“.

November 20, 1975: The Spanish dictator General Franco dies in Madrid.

On my family tree November 20, 1836 is the birthday of Dorothea Maria Elisabeth LEPPIN. I don’t have her birthplace yet. Only her birthday and her father Hans Heinrich LEPPIN are mentioned in her wedding entry.

She married Hans Jacob LENSCHOW on April 1, 1864 in Diedrichshagen, Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany.

Dorothea and Hans had a son and a daughter I know of so far, born 1865 and 1869.

I couldn’t find her exact date of death yet but she died after September 11, 1881. That was the day her husband died and she is stated as still living.

And now that I take a closer look at her, I see that I have no information about her from the 1867, 1890, 1900 or 1919 census.

I think I know what I will do later this afternoon ;)

please comment

