November 18

Somehow the day yesterday went by so fast that I couldn’t publish my daily blog. But of course, I don’t want to keep November 18 from you ;)

November 18, 1841 was the day of the Battle of Ingavi. The Bolivian Army under General José Balliván Segurola defeated the Peruvian intruders headed by their President Agustín Gamarra. This battle ended the Peruvian-Bolivian War.

And one of my favourites! On November 18, 1959 the movie “Ben Hur” from director William Wyler premieres in New York City.

And on my family tree?

Grevesmhlen MecklenburgWestern Pomerania Germany -88

 

On November 18, 1879 the widowed brickmaker Gottlieb Christof KÄHLER died in Gostorf, Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany at the age of 71 years. His son Carl registered his death one day later with the authorities as you can see above.

According to his age when he died, Gottlieb was born abt. 1808 in Zülow, Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany as the son of the brickmaker Burghard KÄHLER and Sophia STERNBERG.

Gottlieb was married to Margarethe Sophia Elisabeth TRETOW. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find their wedding entry yet. But I know of 5 children they had between 1840  and 1854 via the 1867 census which shows the family living in Gostorf.

Gottlieb Kähler

I didn’t find the church record for his death yet. When I find that I can add when he was laid to rest.

please comment

