November 11 – not far back in time

November 11, 1918 – The peace treaty of Compiègne terminates the combat operations of WW I

November 11, 1954 – “The Two Towers“, the second volume of “The Lord of the Rings” from Tolkien gets published in the UK.

And in my family tree we are even coming closer to the present age.

On November 11, 1972 my greatgrandmother Emma Wilhelmine Elisabeth FREYTAG dies in Lübeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany.

She was born on July 26, 1884 and received her christening on August 20, 1884 in Diedrichshagen, Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany.

Birth certificate Emma Freytag

Birth certificate Emma Freytag

Again the registrar was so nice to put a stamp with information on her death on it. Not the exact date but the citation of the record in Lübeck which confirms the year.

Yes, she is the one who connects my main parish Diedrichshagen to the place my family lives in today. She was the oldest of three children from Joachim Heinrich Gottlieb FREYTAG and Sophia Maria Wilhelmine WARNKE.

On April 16, 1909 she married my Greatgrandfather Friedrich Bernhard Robert SCHMIDT already in Lübeck. They had three children: one daugther named Gertrud and two sons: Friedrich and my grandfather Wilhelm Ferdinand Christian.

What I haven’t found out yet is why my greatgrandparents came to Lübeck and if they already came together or independently from each other.

Unfortunately, both my grandparents are dead for quite a long time now, I couldn’t really interview them anymore about their parents resp. in-laws.

I couldn’t find either Emma or her husband in the 1900 census of Mecklenburg-Schwerin and the latest online available für Lübeck is the one from 1880. That doesn’t help.

I have to keep on looking left and right. There has to be information on her between 1884 and 1909.

please comment

