November 10 – Today in my family tree

November 10, 1928 starts the “Vossische Zeitung“, a newspaper in Berlin to pre-publish Erich Maria Remarque‘s new novel “Im Westen nichts Neues” (All Quiet on the Western Front). The novel describes the horror of the WW I front out of the view of a young German soldier. Remarque himself said the novel is apolitical but very soon it became THE anti-war-novel.

41 years later on November 10, 1968 the first show of Sesame Street airs in the United States.

Let’s see what happened on my family tree.

Catharina Margaretha LEU is born on November 10, 1817 in Büttlingen, Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany. She is the oldest daughter of Johann Peter LEU and Anna Margaretha DREVES. Throughout her life her last name differs on various records between LEU and LAU. I decided to stick with the writing in the first record I have for her, that is her birth entry.

Here in the 1819 census she is already written LAU:

Catharina Leu

 

On July 17, 1838 she marries in Diedrichshagen the farm labourer Johann Heinrich BRANDT from Büttlingen. I couldn’t trace any childrem for the two yet.

Catharina dies on March 6, 1877 in Roxin, Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany and gets laid to rest in Diedrichshagen on March 12, 1877.

I wonder why I haven’t found them yet on the 1867 census. I will take a look at that right now :)

please comment

