November 7 – Today in my family tree

Let’s see what makes this day a special day…. and no, I won’t even mention it, although everyone thinks of November 7, 1938. There are other, better events worth to be mentioned. 

On November 7, 1963 eleven miners are recovered alive in Lengede, Lower Saxony, Germany – 2 weeks after a the mine has collapsed. This recovery is known today as “Das Wunder von Lengede” (The Miracle of Lengede). By the way, there is a great german movie about this story. 

On November 7, 1665 The “Oxford Gazette” (today known as “London Gazette“) gets published for the first time. It is the oldest still existing newspaper and one of the offical journal of records of the British government. 

On my family tree, Johann Joachim Carl BROCKMANN is born November 7, 1840 as the son of Joachim Heinrich BROCKMANN and Engel EICHMANN in Mummensdorf.

I have this information from the wedding ban for him and his fiancée Margarethe Elisabeth BADE dated October 11, 1871. 

BrockmannAnd I hate it when this happens, it only states “Mummensdorf”, but not which one! Very funny by the way that I couldn’t find their wedding record yet. The ban states the wedding was supposed to take place in Schlutup. But somehow I couldn’t trace the record there yet. 

The record tells me even more. He is working as a helping hand for a miller and he is a burgher of the city of Lübeck since July 26, 1871

But they did indeed marry. I found the two of them in the 1871 as well as the 1875 and 1880 census of Lübeck. Here the one from 1875 as an example: 

Brockmann 2You see that they have a son in the meantime, born December 1, 1872. And Elisabeth is mentioned as Carl’s wife. And this census helped me out with my question “which Mummensdorf”. In the form the state of the place of birth had to be mentioned. And it says “Mecklenb.-Schwerin” which is Mecklenburg-Schwerin. I have to go East again for this. 

And Carl is not longer working in a mill, he is a train conductor now. I checked the census for 1880. He sticked to this new occupation, working for the railway. 

And now I have to see what else I can find on him. Well there has to be at least a death record somewhere. 

 

 

 

please comment

