November 5 – Arts and Culture

Hmm.. somehow today is a tough one. I just have one event on my family tree and it took me a while to find some historical events which had nothing to do with astronomy or physics, because I really prefer to know what I am writing about ;)

The opera in Vienna which had been totally destroyed in WW II celebrates the re-opening on November 5, 1955 with the Beethoven opera “Fidelio“.

On November 5, 1499 the “Catholicon“, the first dictionary for the languages Breton and French gets printed in Tréguier. It is trilingual French-Breton-Latin.

As mentioned above, I only have one event on my family tree for this day and it is a short story to tell.

On November 5, 1847 the sister-in-law of my 3rd great grand uncle Johanna Elisabeth Dorothea BADE dies in Schlutup, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany.

Johanna was born on January 30, 1819 as third of four children in Schlutup, which is today a part of the city of Lübeck.

Johanna wasn’t married and didn’t have children when she died

please comment

