November 2 – Today on my family tree

Over the census blog I don’t want to forget my “today in my family tree” series ;)

Coming back to cars again (well, I AM German and I love to serve clichées ;)):

November 2, 1886: The imperial patent office grants Carl Benz a patent for his automobile. And ten years later on November 2, 1896 the british General Accident Co. in London offers its members the first car insurance for 2 british pounds a year.

And on my family tree?

I have no idea, if either Helene Wilhelmine Johanna FREYTAG or August Karl Friedrich KABEN ever had a car. To be honest, looking at their history,  I would doubt that.

They married on November 2, 1900 in Diedrichshagen, Mecklenburg, Germany.

Helene was born on May 30, 1880 in Diedrichshagen as oldest of four children into the farmer family of Johann Joachim Heinrich FREYTAG and Elisabeth Dorothea Margaretha FREYTAG. She got christened on June 6, 1880 and confirmed on March 18, 1894 – both in the church of Diedrichshagen.

August was born on April 16, 1867 in Diedrichshagen as the second child to the fee farmer Johann Heinrich KABEN and his wife Eliesabeth SCHWARZ.

A rather uncommon fact is that the 1880 census of Lübeck, Schleswig-Holstein shows him living with his grandparents:

August Kaben census 1880 HL

 

Lübeck is about 30 miles west from Diedrichshagen. Not really a small distance in 1880.

The 1900 census shows both of them married and living in Diedrichshagen. As well as the 1919 census. They had one daughter I of so far.

I haven’t found a death record for either one of them yet.

please comment

