October 22 – Today in my family tree – Moving to Lübeck

First things first: HAPPY BIRTHDAY, SIS!!!

Two events out of the more recent history. On October 22, 1964 Jean-Paul Sartre the great french romancier declined the Nobelprize in Literature.

On October 22, 2012 1969 Led Zeppelin published their second album “Led Zeppelin II“.

And what was going on in my family tree? Else Nicolaus was born in Königsberg, East Prussia, but I already told you about her. Her story was my first ever written blog.

On October 22, 1893 my greatgreataunt Lucia Catharina Maria OHRT married Johann Peter Heinrich FREITAG in Lübeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany. In Schlutup, to be exact. That is the most eastern district of Lübeck. Between 1949 and 1989 the city limits there have been the border between East and West Germany.

Yes, I have finally found some place else than Diedrichshagen. I started to believe, that would be the only parish I have ancestors in ;)

Lucia was born May 02, 1867 in Schlutup as second of 6 children to Joachim Heinrich OHRT and Elisabeth Maria KRANZ. Lucia had 3 surviving sisters and one brother. The poor Dad… surrounded by almost only girls. My Dad could tell stories about that too, by the way ;)

This is the census record from 1880 for the OHRT family.

Lbeck Germany Census 1880

Johann was born August 20, 1871 in Bauhhof Schönberg. Unfortunately, his parents weren’t given in the marriage entry.

On my to-do list for the two? Check for children in the Schlutup birth records.

One thought on “October 22 – Today in my family tree – Moving to Lübeck

  1. Pingback: April 9 – Helene Anna Elise Ohrt | Barbara Schmidt

please comment

