October 15 – Today in my family tree

I am leaving Diedrichshagen for today ;) And this is a mixture between “today in my family tree” and “cousin bait”.

October 15, 1925 was the day, my greatcousin Eva KOPPETSCH was born in Daniels in the county of Königsberg (today’s Kaliningrad, Russia). She is the daughter of Else NICOLAUS, you might remember her from my very first blog.

She left Germany with her mother and her two brothers on board the SS Albert Ballin April 26, 1929, travelling from Hamburg to New York. Below you see their names on the Hamburg passengerlists. As you can see, the handwriting is horrible ;)

Eva Koppetsch Hamburg Passagierlisten

 

On the incoming New York papers, they can be found and read a lot easier

Eva Koppetsch New York Passagierlisten

The 1930 cencus shows her living with her family – they reunited with their father in the meantime – in the Bronx.

1936 the family travels back to Germany, because Eva got very sick and she received treatment in a hospital in Berlin, they arrived back in New York in late November, just in time for Thanksgiving.

The 1940 cencus shows her, her brother William and her father living in East 74th Street in New York. Else’s whereabout is still the big mystery and her brother Harry died 1934.

And then I loose her trace. Is she still alive? I have no idea, but would love to know.

Since I don’t know if she is still alive or not, I thought a while if I should really write this blog. But I don’t publish anything which is not already online yet. And I would really love to find someone from that part of the family. Maybe you can help me?

 

please comment

