October 10 – Today in my family tree

GrevesmühlenMecklenburgVorpommernDeutschlandHeir_539267896GrevesmühlenMecklenburgVorpommernDeutschlandHeir_539267895

My third cousin 3x removed Frieda Dorothea Wilhelmine SCHWARZ married her fiancé Karl David Edmund REBBIN on October 10, 1905 (Happy Anniversary!!)

Above you can see their civil wedding record from the village of Upahl in the grandduchy of Mecklenburg-Schwerin (today part of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern) and later that day they had their church wedding in Diedrichshagen, the neighbour village.

This is one of those cases where someone from the parish married “abroad”.

The record states Karl being a fee farmer in Fährdorf on Poel Island (in the Baltic Sea) of lutheran religion, born April 22, 1880 in Vorwerk on Poel Island. His parents are given as well as their last residency.

Frieda is stated as a housekeeper from Diedrichshagen of lutheran religion, born April 4, 1885 in Diedrichshagen. Also her parents and their last residency ist given.

Since Karl was a fee farmer and Frieda was the 8th of 10 children – not much to inherit for her from her farming family –  I guess that they both moved back into his village. But I couldn’t verify that yet.

See? One of those missing details I mentioned when introducing my “today in my family tree” blog.

I already put it on my “to do list”.

please comment

